DWI Lawyer in the Hudson Valley, Long Island and New York Metro Area
Providing Aggressive Drunk Driving Defense
Like any criminal offense, an arrest for Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) in New York can lead to fines and possible jail time. In addition, a DWI arrest can result in the loss of your driver’s license for an extended period of time. Your employment, your professional license, and your reputation in the community are all on the line. If you have been arrested for DWI in the Hudson Valley region, let the criminal defense attorneys at Ingber & Provost provide you with a strong, effective defense designed to get you the best result possible and minimize any long-term negative consequences that could result from your arrest.
New York Drunk Driving Laws
In New York, as in other states, you can be arrested for DWI with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08%, even without any other evidence that your driving was impaired. However, this does not mean that you do not have defenses against the charge. For instance, the police must have had probable cause to stop and test you in the first place, and often the reasons they give for establishing probable cause can be challenged. We evaluate every aspect of your arrest to determine what defenses you may have available, and we fight to protect your rights as a person accused of a crime.
DWI is a misdemeanor crime, and even a first offense can lead to serious consequences if convicted. These include up to $1,000 in fines and up to one year in jail, as well as having your driver’s license revoked for six months or more. New York law also includes a number of aggravating circumstances which, if present, can enhance these penalties and make matters worse. In addition, you can be saddled with an arrest record or criminal record with negative repercussions in your personal and professional life. Before you plead guilty to any DWI charge, be sure and consult with able and experienced New York criminal defense attorneys who may be able to help you.
If your BAC registers between .05% and .07%, you can be charged in New York state with Driving While Ability Impaired (DWAI). DWAI is classified as a traffic infraction rather than a criminal offense, but it still carries significant penalties, including $500 in fines and 15 days in jail, along with a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license. And since DWAI is an infraction and not a crime, the prosecutor only has to convince the judge that your driving was impaired and does not have to prove the case beyond a reasonable doubt. To avoid these negative consequences, as well as the addition of points on your license, get help from an experienced DWI/DWAI attorney to fight these charges with any applicable defenses.
Get Help Today with Your Hudson Valley Drunk Driving Arrest
If you have been arrested and charged with DWI or DWAI in Orange, Dutchess or Ulster County, contact the DWI lawyers of Ingber & Provost for a free consultation. We will go to work right away investigating the incident, protecting your rights, and seeing that you get an aggressive, appropriate defense to help you achieve the best outcome possible.